Following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the European Union, with Portugal’s backing, approved the following restrictive measures on Russia:

  1. Individuals tied to the Russian and Belarusian Governments and Armed Forces are banned from entering or transiting on EU soil, as well as the freezing of their assets, among which are the Russian President, Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Home Affairs, as well as any individuals or entities who provide material or financial assistance or obtain benefits from the Russian government
  2. Economic and financial sanctions to limit Russia’s access to the EU’s financial and capital markets
  3. Applying restrictive measures on the Russian energy, aviation, and space sectors
  4. Closing the EU’s air space to Russian airlines
  5. Suspending all the licences or agreements on the transmission and distribution of broadcasters used for Russian government propaganda
  6. Economic and financial sanctions on the Donetsk and Luhansk regions, not controlled by Ukraine, to forbid the imports of goods and forbid investment in the regions.